Mt Fuji Climbing Season 2027
The day each mountain hut starts taking bookings and the dates the four trails open, logged from the huts' and the prefectures' own announcements as they land. Further down: the rules and the fee, what the mountain is doing now, and how busy each day of the last season was.
Mt Fuji has been closed to climbers since September 10, 2026, and no date, fee or rule for the 2027 season is official yet. Last season the Yoshida and Subashiri trails opened on July 1 and Fujinomiya and Gotemba on July 10, and no trail has opened late since 2019. This page logs each announcement as it lands. The first are likely to be the mountain huts' booking days: in 2026 the earliest notice went up on January 3.
Closed Since September 10, With the First Snowcap Still to Come (Updated October 2)
Mt Fuji cannot be climbed again until July 2027. All four trails above the 5th stations closed on September 10, and they are closed in law, as roads, not merely out of season. The huts, toilets and first-aid posts are shut, and the top already dips below freezing: on Oct 2 the summit station read −2.4°C at its coldest and 3.3°C at its warmest. The first snowcap has not come yet; the normal date is October 2, and in 2025 it waited until Oct 23.
The season just ended was the busiest since 2017. The Ministry of the Environment counted 240,436 climbers at the 8th stations, 17% more than in 2025, with 6,445 on the busiest day, Sunday, Jul 19. Every trail opened on its planned day, and the Yoshida trail's limit of 4,000 climbers a day never shut the gate: on the closest day, July 19, 3,992 had gone through by 14:00, when it shuts anyway.
Nothing for 2027 is official yet. No date, no fee, no rule. What is moving is the closed season: on September 14 Yamanashi Prefecture set out a plan to charge for helicopter rescues of people who climb when the mountain is shut and to start a climbing notification system, without an amount or a start date, and Shizuoka has a working group on the same question. For next summer, mountain huts' booking days should come first: one hut, Akaiwa Hachigokan, already says its 2027 bookings start in January.
What is still possible this autumn: the roads to all four 5th stations are open, the three on the Shizuoka side until snow closes them in early to mid November, and the short path from the Fujinomiya 5th station to the 6th stays open until about the same time.
Mt Fuji Mountain Hut Bookings 2027
The hut is the booking that decides the trip. Nobody may pass a trailhead gate between 14:00 and 3:00 without one, and each hut opens its bookings on a day of its own choosing. The Ministry of the Environment's report on the 2026 season says some huts filled early and were hard to book, and that the highest huts fill first every year. No official page collects the booking days, so this table does, from each hut's own site: the day it opened in 2026, and what it has said for 2027.
No hut is taking 2027 bookings yet. 5 have said when they will open: Kamaiwakan, after Golden Week (planned); Fuji Ichikan, mid May (planned); Toyokan, around mid May (planned); Fujisan Hotel, about May 10 (standing rule, not a 2027 notice); Akaiwa Hachigokan, from January. A blank in the 2026 column means the hut's site did not state the day, not that it took no bookings.
The ministry's own advice for finding a bed: go on a weekday or after the Obon holiday, try a different hut, look again later because cancellations come back on sale, and consider another trail.
Yoshida trail huts
- Sato-goyaNothing announced yetOld 5th station
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- No opening day: bookings all year
On the old path up from Umagaeshi, not at the Subaru Line 5th station. The only hut that also takes guests in winter. - Fujisan MiharashiNothing announced yet5th station (Subaru Line), 2,305 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 1, 9:00
At the 5th-station bus terminal, not on the trail. Online booking only. - UnjokakuNothing announced yet5th station (Subaru Line), 2,305 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 10, 12:00
Also at the bus terminal. The rooms are sold as Lodge Fujiyama, online and prepaid by card. - SeikansoNothing announced yet6th station, 2,390 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
- HanagoyaNothing announced yet7th station, 2,700 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Phone bookings only. - HinodekanNothing announced yet7th station, 2,720 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 11, 9:00
- Tomoekan (7th station)Nothing announced yet7th station, 2,740 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 11, about midnight
Private rooms only, booked online. Its 2026 notice went up on January 3. - KamaiwakanBooking month named7th station, 2,790 m
- 2027
- After Golden Week (planned)
- 2026
- May 8, 10:00
Online only. In 2026 its English booking site opened a week before the Japanese one, on May 1. - Fuji IchikanBooking month named7th station, 2,800 m
- 2027
- Mid May (planned)
- 2026
- Day not stated
The whole season goes on sale at once, on its own site only. - ToriisoNothing announced yet7th station, 2,900 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
- ToyokanBooking month named7th station, 3,000 m
- 2027
- Around mid May (planned)
- 2026
- May 26, 10:00
Details promised for March or April 2027. Online booking with prepayment only. - TaishikanNothing announced yet8th station, 3,100 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 11 to 14, 9:00, by stay date
Online only. In 2026 it opened in four windows on four mornings, by the night wanted. - HoraikanNothing announced yet8th station, 3,150 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 12, 9:00
- HakuunsoNothing announced yet8th station, 3,200 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 1, 9:30
Also opened on May 1 in 2023 and 2025. Online booking only. - GansomuroNothing announced yet8th station, 3,250 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
- Fujisan HotelBooking day namedOriginal 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Subashiri trail
- 2027
- About May 10 (standing rule, not a 2027 notice)
- 2026
- May 10 (standing rule)
Online only, and only for people living in Japan: its English booking service was unavailable in summer 2026. - Tomoekan (Original 8th station)Nothing announced yetOriginal 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Subashiri trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 11, about midnight
Private rooms only; one booking system with its 7th-station hut.
| Hut | 2027 bookings | 2026 bookings opened |
|---|---|---|
| Sato-goya Old 5th station | Nothing announced yet On the old path up from Umagaeshi, not at the Subaru Line 5th station. The only hut that also takes guests in winter. | No opening day: bookings all year |
| Fujisan Miharashi 5th station (Subaru Line), 2,305 m | Nothing announced yet At the 5th-station bus terminal, not on the trail. Online booking only. | Apr 1, 9:00 |
| Unjokaku 5th station (Subaru Line), 2,305 m | Nothing announced yet Also at the bus terminal. The rooms are sold as Lodge Fujiyama, online and prepaid by card. | Apr 10, 12:00 |
| Seikanso 6th station, 2,390 m | Nothing announced yet | Day not stated |
| Hanagoya 7th station, 2,700 m | Nothing announced yet Phone bookings only. | Day not stated |
| Hinodekan 7th station, 2,720 m | Nothing announced yet | Apr 11, 9:00 |
| Tomoekan (7th station) 7th station, 2,740 m | Nothing announced yet Private rooms only, booked online. Its 2026 notice went up on January 3. | May 11, about midnight |
| Kamaiwakan 7th station, 2,790 m | Booking month named After Golden Week (planned) Online only. In 2026 its English booking site opened a week before the Japanese one, on May 1. | May 8, 10:00 |
| Fuji Ichikan 7th station, 2,800 m | Booking month named Mid May (planned) The whole season goes on sale at once, on its own site only. | Day not stated |
| Toriiso 7th station, 2,900 m | Nothing announced yet | Day not stated |
| Toyokan 7th station, 3,000 m | Booking month named Around mid May (planned) Details promised for March or April 2027. Online booking with prepayment only. | May 26, 10:00 |
| Taishikan 8th station, 3,100 m | Nothing announced yet Online only. In 2026 it opened in four windows on four mornings, by the night wanted. | May 11 to 14, 9:00, by stay date |
| Horaikan 8th station, 3,150 m | Nothing announced yet | May 12, 9:00 |
| Hakuunso 8th station, 3,200 m | Nothing announced yet Also opened on May 1 in 2023 and 2025. Online booking only. | May 1, 9:30 |
| Gansomuro 8th station, 3,250 m | Nothing announced yet | Day not stated |
| Fujisan Hotel Original 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Subashiri trail | Booking day named About May 10 (standing rule, not a 2027 notice) Online only, and only for people living in Japan: its English booking service was unavailable in summer 2026. | May 10 (standing rule) |
| Tomoekan (Original 8th station) Original 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Subashiri trail | Nothing announced yet Private rooms only; one booking system with its 7th-station hut. | May 11, about midnight |
Subashiri trail huts
- Higashi Fuji SansoNothing announced yet5th station, 2,000 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
At the trailhead. Phone only; its own site says it has not been updated for over four years. - KikuyaNothing announced yet5th station, 2,000 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
At the trailhead. Its site gives late April to late October as its season. - YoshinoyaNothing announced yetSunaharai 5th station, 2,300 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 1
On the descent route, about 250 m across from the way up. - Osada SansoNothing announced yet6th station, 2,450 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 1
Phone only. In 2026 it opened on June 25, before the trail. - SetokanNothing announced yetOriginal 6th station, 2,700 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
- TaiyokanNothing announced yet7th station, 3,000 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Under way by Apr 1
Phone only. In 2026 it planned a late opening, July 20, because of building work. - MiharashikanNothing announced yetOriginal 7th station, 3,200 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Mar 1
Phone bookings in Japanese only; visitors from abroad are sent to a separate booking site. - Shita-EdoyaNothing announced yet8th station, 3,350 m, also on the Yoshida trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- From May 10, each night two months ahead
Rolling sales: each night goes on sale two months ahead, at 11:00. Its 2026 season was July 10 to August 29. - Kami-Edoya (Munatsuki Edoya)Nothing announced yetOriginal 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Yoshida trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- From May 1, each night two months ahead
The same rolling sales as Shita-Edoya, two months ahead at 11:00. - GoraikokanNothing announced yet8.5th station, 3,450 m, also on the Yoshida trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- May 11, 12:00
The hut closest to the summit on the Yoshida and Subashiri side. Online booking only. - OgiyaNothing announced yetSummit, 3,710 m, also on the Yoshida trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
No website; the official hut list gives only a phone number. - YamaguchiyaNothing announced yetSummit, 3,710 m, also on the Yoshida trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Jun 1 for July nights, Jun 15 for August
Phone or fax only. Its 2026 lodging period was July 12 to August 29.
| Hut | 2027 bookings | 2026 bookings opened |
|---|---|---|
| Higashi Fuji Sanso 5th station, 2,000 m | Nothing announced yet At the trailhead. Phone only; its own site says it has not been updated for over four years. | Day not stated |
| Kikuya 5th station, 2,000 m | Nothing announced yet At the trailhead. Its site gives late April to late October as its season. | Day not stated |
| Yoshinoya Sunaharai 5th station, 2,300 m | Nothing announced yet On the descent route, about 250 m across from the way up. | May 1 |
| Osada Sanso 6th station, 2,450 m | Nothing announced yet Phone only. In 2026 it opened on June 25, before the trail. | Apr 1 |
| Setokan Original 6th station, 2,700 m | Nothing announced yet | Day not stated |
| Taiyokan 7th station, 3,000 m | Nothing announced yet Phone only. In 2026 it planned a late opening, July 20, because of building work. | Under way by Apr 1 |
| Miharashikan Original 7th station, 3,200 m | Nothing announced yet Phone bookings in Japanese only; visitors from abroad are sent to a separate booking site. | Mar 1 |
| Shita-Edoya 8th station, 3,350 m, also on the Yoshida trail | Nothing announced yet Rolling sales: each night goes on sale two months ahead, at 11:00. Its 2026 season was July 10 to August 29. | From May 10, each night two months ahead |
| Kami-Edoya (Munatsuki Edoya) Original 8th station, 3,400 m, also on the Yoshida trail | Nothing announced yet The same rolling sales as Shita-Edoya, two months ahead at 11:00. | From May 1, each night two months ahead |
| Goraikokan 8.5th station, 3,450 m, also on the Yoshida trail | Nothing announced yet The hut closest to the summit on the Yoshida and Subashiri side. Online booking only. | May 11, 12:00 |
| Ogiya Summit, 3,710 m, also on the Yoshida trail | Nothing announced yet No website; the official hut list gives only a phone number. | Day not stated |
| Yamaguchiya Summit, 3,710 m, also on the Yoshida trail | Nothing announced yet Phone or fax only. Its 2026 lodging period was July 12 to August 29. | Jun 1 for July nights, Jun 15 for August |
Gotemba trail huts
- Oishi-chayaNothing announced yetAbove the New 5th station
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Fifteen minutes above the trailhead. Phone only, on the number in the official hut list. - HanzoboNothing announced yetNew 6th station, 2,590 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 1 (web)
Annex of Warajikan. In 2026 it opened on June 27, before the trail. - WarajikanNothing announced yet7.4th station, 3,090 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Takes bookings by web, email or phone. Its 2026 season also began on June 27. - SunabashirikanNothing announced yet7.5th station, 3,120 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Under way by Mar 5
Phone only. Its 2026 season was July 10 to August 31. - Akaiwa HachigokanBooking month named7.9th station, 3,300 m
- 2027
- From January
- 2026
- Day not stated
The highest hut on the Gotemba trail. Booked by phone, on the line it shares with its sister hut Sunabashirikan.
| Hut | 2027 bookings | 2026 bookings opened |
|---|---|---|
| Oishi-chaya Above the New 5th station | Nothing announced yet Fifteen minutes above the trailhead. Phone only, on the number in the official hut list. | Day not stated |
| Hanzobo New 6th station, 2,590 m | Nothing announced yet Annex of Warajikan. In 2026 it opened on June 27, before the trail. | Apr 1 (web) |
| Warajikan 7.4th station, 3,090 m | Nothing announced yet Takes bookings by web, email or phone. Its 2026 season also began on June 27. | Day not stated |
| Sunabashirikan 7.5th station, 3,120 m | Nothing announced yet Phone only. Its 2026 season was July 10 to August 31. | Under way by Mar 5 |
| Akaiwa Hachigokan 7.9th station, 3,300 m | Booking month named From January The highest hut on the Gotemba trail. Booked by phone, on the line it shares with its sister hut Sunabashirikan. | Day not stated |
Fujinomiya trail huts
- Hoei SansoNothing announced yet6th station, 2,493 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Below the seasonal gate, on the stretch of trail that is open from late June to early November. - UnkaisoNothing announced yet6th station, 2,493 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Under way by Jun 4
Next door to Hoei Sanso, on the same stretch below the gate. - Goraiko SansoNothing announced yetNew 7th station, 2,780 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Details here come from the Fujinomiya hut union's page. - Yamaguchi SansoNothing announced yetOriginal 7th station, 3,010 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Its booking page says 2026 is closed and asks visitors to wait for news of when bookings start again. - IkedakanNothing announced yet8th station, 3,250 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
Online booking only. - Mannenyuki SansoNothing announced yet9th station, 3,460 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Apr 1, 9:00
The largest hut on the trail, with room for 250. - Munatsuki SansoNothing announced yet9.5th station, 3,590 m
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
At about 3,590 m, the last hut before the summit on this trail. - Chojo FujikanNothing announced yetSummit, 3,740 m, also on the Gotemba trail
- 2027
- Nothing for 2027 yet
- 2026
- Day not stated
At the summit, beside the shrine and the post office. Online booking only.
| Hut | 2027 bookings | 2026 bookings opened |
|---|---|---|
| Hoei Sanso 6th station, 2,493 m | Nothing announced yet Below the seasonal gate, on the stretch of trail that is open from late June to early November. | Day not stated |
| Unkaiso 6th station, 2,493 m | Nothing announced yet Next door to Hoei Sanso, on the same stretch below the gate. | Under way by Jun 4 |
| Goraiko Sanso New 7th station, 2,780 m | Nothing announced yet Details here come from the Fujinomiya hut union's page. | Day not stated |
| Yamaguchi Sanso Original 7th station, 3,010 m | Nothing announced yet Its booking page says 2026 is closed and asks visitors to wait for news of when bookings start again. | Day not stated |
| Ikedakan 8th station, 3,250 m | Nothing announced yet Online booking only. | Day not stated |
| Mannenyuki Sanso 9th station, 3,460 m | Nothing announced yet The largest hut on the trail, with room for 250. | Apr 1, 9:00 |
| Munatsuki Sanso 9.5th station, 3,590 m | Nothing announced yet At about 3,590 m, the last hut before the summit on this trail. | Day not stated |
| Chojo Fujikan Summit, 3,740 m, also on the Gotemba trail | Nothing announced yet At the summit, beside the shrine and the post office. Online booking only. | Day not stated |
Mt Fuji Opening Dates 2027, Trail by Trail
Neither prefecture has published a 2027 date, so the dates below are 2026's, marked as expected. An opening only becomes certain a week or so ahead, once the snow left on the trail has been checked: in 2026 a joint patrol walked the Yoshida trail on June 22. The last time one slipped was 2019, when the Yoshida trail opened only as far as the 8.5th station on July 1 and to the summit on July 9.
- Yoshida trailClosed for winter
- 2027
- July 1 expected (not announced)
- 2026
- Jul 1 to Sep 10
- Starts at
- Fuji Subaru Line 5th Station, 2,305 m (Yamanashi)
- Up / down
- 6 h 10 min / 3 h 35 min
- Subashiri trailClosed for winter
- 2027
- July 1 expected (not announced)
- 2026
- Jul 1 to Sep 10
- Starts at
- Subashiri 5th Station, 2,000 m (Shizuoka)
- Up / down
- 6 h 25 min / 3 h 20 min
- Gotemba trailClosed for winter
- 2027
- July 10 expected (not announced)
- 2026
- Jul 10 to Sep 10
- Starts at
- Gotemba New 5th Station, 1,440 m (Shizuoka)
- Up / down
- 8 h 40 min / 3 h 30 min
- Fujinomiya trailClosed for winter
- 2027
- July 10 expected (not announced)
- 2026
- Jul 10 to Sep 10
- Starts at
- Fujinomiya 5th Station, 2,400 m (Shizuoka)
- Up / down
- 5 h 10 min / 2 h 40 min
| Trail | Opening 2027 | 2026 season | Up / down | Now |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoshida Fuji Subaru Line 5th Station, 2,305 m (Yamanashi) | July 1 expected (not announced) | Jul 1 to Sep 10 | 6 h 10 min / 3 h 35 min | Closed for winter Above the 5th station since Sept 11; the paths below it are due to close on Nov 1 |
| Subashiri Subashiri 5th Station, 2,000 m (Shizuoka) | July 1 expected (not announced) | Jul 1 to Sep 10 | 6 h 25 min / 3 h 20 min | Closed for winter |
| Gotemba Gotemba New 5th Station, 1,440 m (Shizuoka) | July 10 expected (not announced) | Jul 10 to Sep 10 | 8 h 40 min / 3 h 30 min | Closed for winter |
| Fujinomiya Fujinomiya 5th Station, 2,400 m (Shizuoka) | July 10 expected (not announced) | Jul 10 to Sep 10 | 5 h 10 min / 2 h 40 min | Closed for winter The path from the 5th to the 6th station is still open; it normally closes in early November |
Trail colours are the ones the official route maps use. Times are the official climbing site's standard figures from the 5th station to the crater rim, without breaks; Kengamine, the highest point at 3,776 m, is 20 to 60 minutes further round the rim.
The summit opens last. The walk round the crater rim, about 3 km and 90 minutes, and Kengamine itself opened on July 10 in 2026. From July 1 to 9, climbers on the Yoshida and Subashiri trails could reach the top of their trail but could not circle the rim or stand on the highest point, and the official site says the date depends on the snow left there.
What Gets Announced When
The season is announced in pieces by two prefectures, a ministry, a toll road and some forty huts. This is the order the pieces arrived in last time, with the date each one landed, and what has landed so far for 2027.
- Shizuoka's final report on the season just endedExpectedEarly October 2026Last time (Oct 1, 2025): That was the report on the 2025 season. For 2026 only the provisional figure is out so far: 117,051 people entered at the three Shizuoka trailheads.
- Yoshida trail's lower sections close for winterExpectedNovember 1, 2026Last time: No notice from last autumn is still online. This year's says the paths between the Subaru Line 5th station, Izumigataki and Sato-goya are due to close at midnight on November 1, or sooner if it snows. Above that, the trail has been closed since September 11.
- Shizuoka's three roads to the 5th stations close for winterExpectedEarly to mid November 2026, announced once it is decidedLast time: The date is set by snow and ice and announced when it is decided: normally early November for the Fujisan Skyline, early to mid November for the Subashiri and Gotemba roads.
- Decisions on closed-season climbing: a rescue fee and a notification systemExpectedWinter 2026-27, no date givenLast time (Sep 14, 2026): Yamanashi published the direction only: a charge for rescues by its disaster helicopter, reduced or waived for climbers who filed a plan and took safety measures, and a Mt Fuji climbing notification system. No amount, area or start date.
- The first huts post their booking datesExpectedJanuary 2027Last time (Jan 3, 2026): Tomoekan posted its 2026 season, prices and booking day (May 11) on January 3. Hakuunso followed on January 30.
- The Subaru Line stops reaching the 5th stationExpectedMid January 2027, depending on snowLast time (Jan 18, 2026): January 18 was the last day cars reached the 5th station; after that the road ran only to the 1st-station car park or the 4th-station Osawa car park until April 18.
- Yoshida trail rules and fee for the seasonExpectedMid March 2027Last time (Mar 13, 2026): ¥4,000 per climb, the gate shut from 14:00 to 3:00, a cap of 4,000 climbers a day and an equipment check at the gate, described as no major change from 2025. March 13 is the date on the official site's notice; Yamanashi put out no separate press release.
- Day-by-day crowding forecast for the seasonExpectedEarly April 2027Last time (Apr 8, 2026): A four-level calendar published as an image; April 8 is the date of the image file. It marked nine days as very crowded, and four of the five days that turned out busiest were among them.
- Subaru Line open to the 5th station againExpectedAbout April 17, 2027Last time (Apr 18, 2026): Announced on April 15 for Saturday, April 18 at 9:00, once the snow was cleared.
- Shizuoka's three roads to the 5th stations reopenExpectedAbout Friday, April 23, 2027Last time (Apr 24, 2026): Announced on April 17 for Friday, April 24 at 11:00. The Fujisan Skyline stayed shut at night until mid May because of ice.
- Yoshida trail entry reservations openExpectedLate April 2027Last time (Apr 27, 2026): Opened Monday, April 27 at 13:00 (announced April 17): 3,000 advance slots a day, with the rest of the 4,000 held for same-day arrivals.
- Shizuoka-side rules, fee and opening datesExpectedLate April 2027Last time (Apr 27, 2026): ¥4,000, a compulsory online safety course and test, no entry from 14:00 to 3:00 without a hut booking, and no daily cap. New in 2026: Subashiri opened on July 1 instead of July 10.
- Shizuoka pre-registration opens in the FUJI NAVI appExpectedEarly May 2027Last time (May 8, 2026): Registration ran from May 8 to September 10; about 90% of Shizuoka-side climbers registered in advance.
- The main wave of hut bookingsExpectedMay 1 to mid May 2027Last time (May 11, 2026): May 11 was the busiest day: Tomoekan, Taishikan and Goraikokan all opened. Of the nine Yoshida-side huts from the 7th station up that stated a day, seven opened between May 1 and May 14; Hinodekan had opened on April 11 and Toyokan waited until May 26. On the other trails April 1 was the commonest day.
- Private-car restriction periods decidedExpectedAbout May 20, 2027Last time (May 20, 2026): Shizuoka decided on May 20: Fujinomiya July 10 to September 10, Subashiri July 1 to September 10. The Subaru Line's ran from July 3 at 18:00 to September 10.
- Snow patrol confirms the July 1 openingExpectedAbout June 21, 2027Last time (Jun 22, 2026): A joint party of 26 walked the Yoshida trail on June 22 and found some snow left but nothing to delay July 1. Shizuoka confirmed Subashiri the same day.
- Yoshida and Subashiri trails openExpectedJuly 1, 2027 (not announced)Last time (Jul 1, 2026): Both opened on schedule. The crater circuit at the summit stayed closed until July 10.
- Shizuoka confirms Fujinomiya and GotembaExpectedAbout July 2, 2027Last time (Jul 3, 2026): Confirmed on July 3 for July 10 at 9:00. The rules release in April had warned that snow clearing could delay the date; in the Ministry's table, which goes back to 2017, no Shizuoka trail has opened late.
- Fujinomiya and Gotemba trails open; crater circuit opensExpectedJuly 10, 2027 (not announced)Last time (Jul 10, 2026): Both trails and the crater circuit opened on Friday, July 10.
- Season ends on all four trailsExpectedSeptember 10, 2027 (not announced)Last time (Sep 10, 2026): Shizuoka's trails closed at 17:00 on September 10; the Yoshida trail above the 5th station from midnight.
- Final climber counts for the seasonExpectedLate September 2027Last time (Sep 30, 2026): 240,436 on all four trails, with a daily table for every trail.
| When | What | Last time |
|---|---|---|
Early October 2026 Expected | Shizuoka's final report on the season just ended | October 1, 2025. That was the report on the 2025 season. For 2026 only the provisional figure is out so far: 117,051 people entered at the three Shizuoka trailheads. |
November 1, 2026 Expected | Yoshida trail's lower sections close for winter | No notice from last autumn is still online. This year's says the paths between the Subaru Line 5th station, Izumigataki and Sato-goya are due to close at midnight on November 1, or sooner if it snows. Above that, the trail has been closed since September 11. |
Early to mid November 2026, announced once it is decided Expected | Shizuoka's three roads to the 5th stations close for winter | The date is set by snow and ice and announced when it is decided: normally early November for the Fujisan Skyline, early to mid November for the Subashiri and Gotemba roads. |
Winter 2026-27, no date given Expected | Decisions on closed-season climbing: a rescue fee and a notification system | September 14, 2026. Yamanashi published the direction only: a charge for rescues by its disaster helicopter, reduced or waived for climbers who filed a plan and took safety measures, and a Mt Fuji climbing notification system. No amount, area or start date. |
January 2027 Expected | The first huts post their booking dates | January 3, 2026. Tomoekan posted its 2026 season, prices and booking day (May 11) on January 3. Hakuunso followed on January 30. |
Mid January 2027, depending on snow Expected | The Subaru Line stops reaching the 5th station | January 18, 2026. January 18 was the last day cars reached the 5th station; after that the road ran only to the 1st-station car park or the 4th-station Osawa car park until April 18. |
Mid March 2027 Expected | Yoshida trail rules and fee for the season | March 13, 2026. ¥4,000 per climb, the gate shut from 14:00 to 3:00, a cap of 4,000 climbers a day and an equipment check at the gate, described as no major change from 2025. March 13 is the date on the official site's notice; Yamanashi put out no separate press release. |
Early April 2027 Expected | Day-by-day crowding forecast for the season | April 8, 2026. A four-level calendar published as an image; April 8 is the date of the image file. It marked nine days as very crowded, and four of the five days that turned out busiest were among them. |
About April 17, 2027 Expected | Subaru Line open to the 5th station again | April 18, 2026. Announced on April 15 for Saturday, April 18 at 9:00, once the snow was cleared. |
About Friday, April 23, 2027 Expected | Shizuoka's three roads to the 5th stations reopen | April 24, 2026. Announced on April 17 for Friday, April 24 at 11:00. The Fujisan Skyline stayed shut at night until mid May because of ice. |
Late April 2027 Expected | Yoshida trail entry reservations open | April 27, 2026. Opened Monday, April 27 at 13:00 (announced April 17): 3,000 advance slots a day, with the rest of the 4,000 held for same-day arrivals. |
Late April 2027 Expected | Shizuoka-side rules, fee and opening dates | April 27, 2026. ¥4,000, a compulsory online safety course and test, no entry from 14:00 to 3:00 without a hut booking, and no daily cap. New in 2026: Subashiri opened on July 1 instead of July 10. |
Early May 2027 Expected | Shizuoka pre-registration opens in the FUJI NAVI app | May 8, 2026. Registration ran from May 8 to September 10; about 90% of Shizuoka-side climbers registered in advance. |
May 1 to mid May 2027 Expected | The main wave of hut bookings | May 11, 2026. May 11 was the busiest day: Tomoekan, Taishikan and Goraikokan all opened. Of the nine Yoshida-side huts from the 7th station up that stated a day, seven opened between May 1 and May 14; Hinodekan had opened on April 11 and Toyokan waited until May 26. On the other trails April 1 was the commonest day. |
About May 20, 2027 Expected | Private-car restriction periods decided | May 20, 2026. Shizuoka decided on May 20: Fujinomiya July 10 to September 10, Subashiri July 1 to September 10. The Subaru Line's ran from July 3 at 18:00 to September 10. |
About June 21, 2027 Expected | Snow patrol confirms the July 1 opening | June 22, 2026. A joint party of 26 walked the Yoshida trail on June 22 and found some snow left but nothing to delay July 1. Shizuoka confirmed Subashiri the same day. |
July 1, 2027 (not announced) Expected | Yoshida and Subashiri trails open | July 1, 2026. Both opened on schedule. The crater circuit at the summit stayed closed until July 10. |
About July 2, 2027 Expected | Shizuoka confirms Fujinomiya and Gotemba | July 3, 2026. Confirmed on July 3 for July 10 at 9:00. The rules release in April had warned that snow clearing could delay the date; in the Ministry's table, which goes back to 2017, no Shizuoka trail has opened late. |
July 10, 2027 (not announced) Expected | Fujinomiya and Gotemba trails open; crater circuit opens | July 10, 2026. Both trails and the crater circuit opened on Friday, July 10. |
September 10, 2027 (not announced) Expected | Season ends on all four trails | September 10, 2026. Shizuoka's trails closed at 17:00 on September 10; the Yoshida trail above the 5th station from midnight. |
Late September 2027 Expected | Final climber counts for the season | September 30, 2026. 240,436 on all four trails, with a daily table for every trail. |
Rules and Fees: What 2026 Looked Like
Until the 2027 rules are published, 2026's are the best guide, and Yamanashi described its own as "no major change" from the year before. On every trail: ¥4,000 per person per climb, and no entry between 14:00 and 3:00 without a mountain hut booking, which is how both prefectures stop people climbing through the night without rest.
Yoshida trail (Yamanashi): a limit of 4,000 climbers a day, with hut guests outside the count, and an equipment check at the gate: a warm layer, a rain jacket and trousers, and proper shoes. Booking the entry ahead is optional; 3,000 places a day can be booked and the rest are held for people who turn up. Reservations opened on April 27.
Fujinomiya, Subashiri and Gotemba trails (Shizuoka): no daily limit, but everyone completes an online safety course with a short test and registers before the gate, in the prefecture's FUJI NAVI app or at the trailhead. The app opened on May 8, and about nine in ten Shizuoka-side climbers used it.
What could change: nothing has been announced for the climbing season itself. Around it, Fujiyoshida, the city at the foot of the Yoshida trail, plans to start an accommodation tax on April 1, 2027, and the closed-season rescue fee and notification system described above are both still plans.
The Mountain Now
Lowest and highest on Oct 2 at the weather station on the summit (3,775 m). Normal for that date: −2.1°C to 3.7°C.
Normal date October 2; in 2025 it came on Oct 23. Earliest on record August 9, 2008, latest November 7, 2024. From this season the weather agency reads the snowcap from its snow-depth analysis instead of by eye, so the new date is not strictly comparable. Snow season tracker
The toll road to the Yoshida side's 5th station, as its operator reported it for Oct 3. It can change within a day: the operator's status page.
The Fujisan Skyline, the Fuji Azami Line and the road to the Gotemba trailhead, by Shizuoka Prefecture's status board. They close for winter on a day set by snow and ice, normally in early to mid November, and reopened on April 24 in 2026.
The Four Trails and the Roads to Them
Yoshida Trail
The most popular trail, with more huts than any other and a separate path down. It faces north-east, so the sunrise can be watched from the trail itself, and it is the official site's answer to which trail suits a beginner, because of the huts. The price is crowding, above all where the Subashiri trail joins at the Original 8th station.
Before the gate: Nothing has to be done before you arrive: the fee can be paid at the gate. An online reservation with prepayment is optional, and it is not a hut booking. Staff at the gate check for warm clothing, a rain jacket and trousers, and proper shoes, and from 14:00 they also ask for proof of a hut booking.
Getting there: Buses run to the 5th station from Kawaguchiko Station (55 minutes) and Fujisan Station (65 minutes), ¥2,000 one way or ¥3,400 return since July 2026, and there is a direct highway bus from Shinjuku. In 2026 private cars were barred from July 3 at 18:00 to September 10 at 18:00; drivers left the car at Fujisan Parking by the Fujiyoshida interchange (¥1,000) and took the paid shuttle bus from there. Electric and fuel-cell cars were let through with a certificate issued at the car park; hybrids were not. The road is open all year as far as the snow allows: in 2026 it stopped reaching the 5th station on January 18 and ran all the way again from April 18.
Official page: fujisan-climb.jp
Subashiri Trail
A quieter trail on the east side that starts in forest and stays shaded as far as the Original 6th station; above the trees, the sunrise can be seen from almost anywhere on it. It joins the Yoshida trail at the Original 8th station, where the crowds begin, and comes down by a straight sand run.
Before the gate: Shizuoka's entry procedure is compulsory: complete the online safety course, pass its short test, register and pay the fee, in the FUJI NAVI app beforehand or at the 5th station (allow about 30 minutes there). Staff scan the entry pass and hand out a wristband.
Getting there: Buses from Gotemba Station take 60 minutes (¥1,780 one way, ¥2,500 return; nine a day from July 1 to September 10 in 2026), and buses from Shin-Matsuda Station on the Odakyu Line ran until August 31. In 2026 private cars, electric ones included, were barred from July 1 to September 10; drivers parked free at the Subashiri multi-purpose plaza and took the shuttle bus (about 30 minutes, ¥1,370 one way or ¥2,400 return). The road closes for winter in early to mid November, on a date set by snow and ice, and reopened on April 24 in 2026.
Official page: fujisan-climb.jp
Gotemba Trail
The longest trail, with the biggest climb (about 2,300 m) and the fewest huts: none between Oishi-chaya, 15 minutes above the trailhead, and the New 6th station. The official site describes it as one for strong walkers and tells beginners to go with someone experienced, because of the shadeless gravel, the heat and the risk of losing the way in fog. It is quiet, and the way down is the Osunabashiri, a sand run of about 5 km.
Before the gate: Shizuoka's procedure applies here too (course, test, registration, fee), in the FUJI NAVI app or at the trailhead. The short Futagoyama walk from the trailhead is outside it.
Getting there: Buses from Gotemba Station take 30 minutes (¥1,280 one way, ¥2,300 return; daily from July 10 to September 10 in 2026, then on weekends and holidays until November 1). There is no private-car restriction on this side: a free car park for about 450 cars sits at the trailhead. The road closes for winter in early to mid November and reopened on April 24 in 2026.
Official page: fujisan-climb.jp
Fujinomiya Trail
The shortest trail, from the highest trailhead, on the south side with views over Suruga Bay and the Izu peninsula. Short means steep and rocky, and the same path is used up and down, so climbers give way to each other when it is busy. Every station from the 6th up has a hut.
Before the gate: The Shizuoka procedure again, in the FUJI NAVI app or at the trailhead; climbers who registered online could also check in at the Mizugatsuka car park, from 5:00 to 13:00. In season the rules cover the walk to the Hoei crater as well.
Getting there: Buses run from Shin-Fuji Station on the Tokaido Shinkansen (about 2 hours) and from Fujinomiya Station (1 hour 20 to 30 minutes). Six ran each day from July 11 to August 30 in 2026, and only two on July 10 and from August 31 to September 10. The official site also lists buses from Mishima and Fuji stations. In 2026 private cars were barred from July 10 to September 10; drivers parked at Mizugatsuka (¥1,500 on weekdays, ¥2,000 at weekends, on holidays and over Obon) and took the shuttle bus (about 35 minutes, ¥1,320 one way or ¥2,400 return). The Skyline closes for winter in early November and reopened on April 24 in 2026, shut at night until mid May because of ice.
Official page: fujisan-climb.jp
How Busy Mt Fuji Gets: the 2026 Counts
The Ministry of the Environment runs infrared counters near the 8th station of each trail and publishes every day's figure after the season. In 2026 they logged 240,436 climbers: 56% on the Yoshida trail, 25% on Fujinomiya, 11% on Subashiri and 7% on Gotemba. The pattern inside the season is the useful part for picking a day.
Average climbers by day of the week
All four trails together, July 10 to September 10, 2026: our averages from the ministry's daily table.
The five busiest days of 2026
| Sunday, Jul 19 | 6,445 | Yoshida 3,131 |
| Saturday, Aug 1 | 5,876 | Yoshida 2,573 |
| Sunday, Aug 9 | 5,597 | Yoshida 3,056 |
| Saturday, Aug 8 | 5,558 | Yoshida 2,968 |
| Saturday, Aug 22 | 5,283 | Yoshida 2,793 |
The quietest days were stormy ones: 388 climbers on September 7, in four days under a stalled front at the end of the season, and 1,996 on August 12, when a typhoon made landfall.
Ten seasons of climbers
| Season | All trails | Yoshida | Fujinomiya | Subashiri | Gotemba |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 240,436 | 134,777 | 60,866 | 27,129 | 17,664 |
| 2025 | 205,100 | 121,068 | 55,121 | 21,792 | 7,119 |
| 2024 | 204,316 | 114,857 | 53,218 | 22,830 | 13,411 |
| 2023 | 221,322 | 137,236 | 49,545 | 19,062 | 15,479 |
| 2022 | 160,145 | 93,962 | 41,549 | 12,621 | 12,013 |
| 2021 | 78,548 | 54,392 | 11,409 | 6,411 | 6,336 |
| 2020 | All trails closed for the pandemic | ||||
| 2019 | 235,646 | 149,969 | 53,232 | 20,215 | 12,230 |
| 2018 | 208,161 | 150,845 | 18,828 | 26,696 | 11,792 |
| 2017 | 284,862 | 172,657 | 70,319 | 23,475 | 18,411 |
Ministry of the Environment, 8th-station counters. Several years have gaps on single trails where a counter failed, so compare years loosely.
Why you will see four different totals
Four bodies count climbers, at different places, and their figures are all correct and all different. A headline that says 174,841 and one that says 240,436 are not contradicting each other.
| Who counts | What | 2026 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ministry of the Environment | Infrared counters near the 8th station, all four trails | 240,436 | 205,100 |
| Yamanashi Prefecture | People permitted onto the Yoshida trail (the fee count), including those who walk up from the foot or come down from the Shizuoka side | 174,841 (provisional) | 149,713 |
| Fujiyoshida City | Climbers counted at the Yoshida trail's 6th station | 166,178 | 142,814 |
| Shizuoka Prefecture | Entry procedures at the Fujinomiya, Subashiri and Gotemba trailheads | 117,051 (provisional) | 103,174 |
How Cold the Summit Is, Month by Month
The Japan Meteorological Agency's weather station on the summit gives the plainest argument for the short season: the average only rises above freezing from June to September, and in the 2026 climbing season the thermometer still dropped below zero on 2 of 72 days. The coldest reading of that season was −1.2°C, on Aug 12, the day a typhoon made landfall in Japan; the warmest was 15.8°C on Aug 18.
| Summit, 3,775 m | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Normal high | −15.3 | −14.3 | −10.9 | −5.9 | −0.6 | 4.0 | 8.0 | 9.5 | 6.5 | 0.7 | −5.9 | −12.2 |
| Average | −18.2 | −17.4 | −14.1 | −8.8 | −3.2 | 1.4 | 5.3 | 6.4 | 3.5 | −2.0 | −8.7 | −15.1 |
| Normal low | −21.4 | −21.1 | −17.7 | −12.2 | −6.3 | −1.4 | 2.8 | 3.8 | 0.6 | −5.1 | −11.8 | −18.3 |
Degrees Celsius, 1991 to 2020 normals. Latest reading synced on Oct 2.
Season Updates
- October 2, 2026 · Tracker launch
All four trails are closed for winter and the summit has no snowcap yet. The roads to the four 5th stations are still open. No 2027 date is official; two prefectures are working on rules for the closed season.
- September 30, 2026 · Ministry of the Environment, final climber counts
240,436 climbers passed the 8th-station counters in the 2026 season, 17% more than in 2025 and the most since 2017. The busiest day was Sunday, July 19, with 6,445.
- September 14, 2026 · Yamanashi Prefecture, closed-season measures
Yamanashi set out a plan to charge for helicopter rescues of people who climb in the closed season and to start a climbing notification system. No amount and no start date were given. Shizuoka's working group on the same subject was called to its second meeting that afternoon.
- September 10, 2026 · Yamanashi and Shizuoka prefectures
The 2026 season ended: the three Shizuoka trails closed at 17:00 and the Yoshida trail above the 5th station from midnight.
🗻 Fit Mt Fuji Into a Trip
A climb takes a day and a half out of an itinerary, and a clear view of the mountain takes luck and an early start. Our two-week classic route already stops in Hakone, where the mountain shows across Lake Ashi on a clear day; pick your dates and every day is laid out in seconds, free and with no account, then add the climb where it fits.
Mt Fuji Climbing Season FAQ
When does the Mt Fuji climbing season start in 2027?
No 2027 date is official yet; the official climbing site says only that the next season is planned for early July to early September. The pattern is steady: the Yoshida trail has opened on July 1 and the Fujinomiya and Gotemba trails on July 10 every year since 2021, the Subashiri trail moved to July 1 in 2026, and all four have closed on September 10. In 2026 the prefectures published their rules in March and April and confirmed each opening seven to nine days ahead, once the snow left on the trail had been checked.
How much does it cost to climb Mt Fuji?
In 2026 every trail charged ¥4,000 per person per climb. The fee for 2027 has not been announced; the Yoshida trail's 2026 rules were on the official site by March 13, and Shizuoka announced its three trails' on April 27. A mountain hut, the toilets on the trail and the bus to the 5th station are all extra.
Do you need a reservation to climb Mt Fuji?
It depends on the side, and the hut matters more than the trail. On the Yoshida trail an advance entry booking is optional: 3,000 of the 4,000 daily places can be booked ahead and the rest are kept for the day, and in 2026 the gate was never closed because the limit was reached. On the three Shizuoka trails there is no daily limit, but everyone has to complete an online safety course and register, in the prefecture's app or at the trailhead. On every trail, nobody may start between 14:00 and 3:00 in the morning without a mountain hut booking, so an overnight climb means booking a hut first.
When do Mt Fuji mountain huts open bookings for 2027?
Each hut decides for itself, and no official page lists the dates. In 2026, 20 of the 42 huts tracked here stated a booking day on their own sites, most of them between April 1 and mid May. For 2027, 5 huts have said when they will open so far. The table on this page shows each hut's 2026 date and what it has said for 2027.
Can you climb Mt Fuji outside the official season?
No. From the end of the season on September 10 until they reopen in July, the trails above the 5th stations are closed as roads under Japan's Road Act, and Shizuoka Prefecture warns that walking a closed trail can bring up to six months in prison or a fine of up to ¥300,000. The huts, toilets and first-aid posts are shut, and the summit's average temperature is −18.2°C in January. Yamanashi Prefecture has also set out a plan to charge for helicopter rescues of people who climb in the closed season; the amount and start date are not decided.
How cold is the summit of Mt Fuji in summer?
Cold enough for a winter layer. The Japan Meteorological Agency's normals for the summit station put the average at 5.3°C in July and 6.4°C in August, with normal daily lows of 2.8°C and 3.8°C. During the 2026 season the coldest reading was −1.2°C on Aug 12 and the warmest 15.8°C on Aug 18; the average daily low was 4.5°C. Wind and wet clothes make it feel far colder than the number.
Which days are the busiest on Mt Fuji?
Weekends, Saturdays above all, and the Obon holiday week in mid August. In 2026 the Ministry of the Environment's counters logged an average of 4,713 climbers on Saturdays against 2,999 on Wednesdays, counting the weeks when all four trails were open. The busiest single day was Sunday, Jul 19, with 6,445 people. The Yoshida trail carried 56% of the season's climbers and the Gotemba trail 7%.
When does Mt Fuji get its first snow?
The first snowcap normally comes around October 2. In the Japan Meteorological Agency's record, which goes back to 1894, the earliest was August 9, 2008 and the latest November 7, 2024; the 2025 one came on Oct 23. This season's has not come yet as of Oct 2. From this season the agency reads the snowcap from its snow-depth analysis instead of by eye, so the new date is not strictly comparable with the old record.